HERE IS MY STORY

A sick child during a war is not unusual. What might be more unusual is to have three children hospitalized, informed they had all died and eleven years later finding one child in a hospital for the disabled. What is even more unusual is twenty-five years later to hear from another of these children. The child my mother heard from was me. This is how it all came about:

I grew up as a child in the small town of Qu’Appelle, Sk after being adopted from a Romanian Orphanage at the age of 1 years, by my parents Pat and Bruce Beanland. I was named Andreea Buzatu, my name is now Andrea Beanland but most people call me Anna. I was a happy child with a loving family, a mother, father and one sister. I was also surrounded by many other family members and friends in this small town. I’ve known that I was adopted as long as I can remember. Every year we attended the Romanian Reunion in Regina, SK where I met many other children who were adopted from Romania. Some knew their stories, some visited their families’, and some didn’t. I was one who didn’t really know what happened until now.
Every now and then I tried to research online anything about my biological family. Unfortunately nothing would come up. Most recently I felt a need to try again. There was a part of me that needed to know the truth, so I figured I would do whatever it takes to find them this time. I was under the impression I had a mother, a father and a brother who was three years older than me. At the time in Romania the revolutionary war had broken out in Timisoara and the living conditions were not good. Timisoara, Romania is an hour by car north of where I was born and thirty minutes by car to where I was in the hospital. There are no records of my brother at the hospital so we figured my parents came back for him.
Many times I had the opportunity to go to Romania and see where I came from, but I didn’t go. First time was when I was twelve. I had seen a WH5 episode about a young girl from Regina, SK who went over to meet her biological family. The family was not so welcoming to her arrival. I feared that I would experience this so I put off the trip. The next was when I was sixteen but I still didn’t feel like the time was right. Then again when I was eighteen my parents offered me the opportunity for my high school graduation present. I didn’t feel the time was right.
The most recent quest began on August 8 2014. I made a small profile on the social media site “Facebook”. My tactic was to post my story in Romanian and in English in various Romanian Adoption groups. I was under the impression I was born in Jamu Mare, Romania in November of 1989. Then a month later I was dropped at the hospital in Deta, Romania with a brother who is three years older than me. Working with the incorrect spelling of my birth mother’s first name slowed me down, however that was quickly corrected. On August 17 I typed in the new spelling “Coeuta” into Facebook and it changed the name to “Cocuta”. I opened the page and that’s when I saw her photo. My jaw dropped, my heart started to race and I lost my breath. I knew it was her.
I saw a photo of my brother on her Facebook page and I felt I had to contact her with my story. Without hesitation I sent her a message explaining who I was and where I came from. I told her that I don’t mean to disrupt their lives or to take anything from them other than to know that we are both out there.
On August 18 2014 I received a message from her. I was hesitant to read the message when I translated it however the first words I read were “Yes, I am your mother.” My stomach sank, my palms began to sweat, my heart raced and my body began to shake. The adrenalin began to rush in and I didn’t know if I wanted to cry or to throw up. I could only imagine what she must have been feeling. I was later informed she cried and called my aunt in Moldova right away. She told my aunt she had found Andreea and she was hunting for my birth certificate to prove to me that she is my birth mother. She was over joyed that I had found her. Within minutes my family history began to unravel. Almost twenty five years later and I have found my answers within these few minutes.
I am one of fourteen children. My oldest sister is is Ioana, her age is unknown. She is my half sister on my mother’s side. My oldest brother, Mihai is deceased 1998. He is my half brother on my mother’s side. My full blood siblings begin with my sister Mihaela (Age 34); older sister Mariana (Age 33); older brother Ionut (Age 32); older sister Elena ( Age 31); older sister Petronela (Age 29); older sister Teodora (Age 28). She is still missing. Older sister Nikoleta (Age 26); Myself Andreea (Age 25). Then after me there is my younger half brother Florin (Age 21) on my mother’s side. It is known my father had three children after myself but I do not have contact with them.

As per my adoption papers I was under the impression I had one brother. But the papers were wrong. I was left with one older sister, Petronela. Petronela is the daughter my birth mother and father found eleven years ago. She currently lives with my birth mother and brother in Arad, Romania. 

It is said that a Mother knows…. My birth mother didn’t give up hope. In fact she has told me that two years ago she told my brother that she believed I had to be out there. She told me she has spent many moments upset and thinking of me. She knew in her heart that I was out there and they needed to find me.
I am still in shock that I have so many people who look like me and have loved me for so long. As funny as it sounds, thank God for Facebook! I am so blessed to have such an amazing family in Canada and so excited to welcome a bunch more people into my family. My birth mom and family are so thankful for my upbringing and agree that they wouldn’t have it any other way. As much as my birth mother wishes she could of been a part of my life the entire time she is proud of how I turned out. Now we get to spend the future together. I thank my parents Pat and Bruce and my sister Tracy for giving me such an amazing life that I know my mother wanted for me. She calls them “Saints from God”.
I currently reside in Toronto, Ontario and three of my sisters, Miha, Maria and Nikole live in Bray, Ireland. The rest of my family lives in and around Arad, Romania including my mother. It is a surreal feeling to wake up every day and talk to her and my siblings. She does not speak English but most of my siblings do. We have video messaged each other so I have seen her over the computer almost every day since. The first meeting over web camera was emotional and I cannot wait until we meet in person.
Best way to describe this feeling is with the simple word overjoyed. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family and life in Canada and so blessed to of come from such a strong and kind woman in Romania. Hopefully my next stop in life will be working hard to save my money to go visit my family.
Thank you to those who have been a strong influence in my life so far.

My plan is to leave at the end of December and stay in Ireland for two weeks to meet my sisters. Then in the middle of January I would like to go to Romania to meet my mother, and other family members. It is my mother’s birthday on January 21 so I figured it would be a nice present.

I hope to get to be in her arms again soon.

IMG_2628.JPGnikoleta, mariana, and mihaila

IMG_2639.JPGflorin

IMG_2627.JPGmom

One thought on “HERE IS MY STORY”

Leave a Reply

