Ancestry

I find ancestry to be so interesting. Now that I know my own family history I find it a lot more fun to join in on the conversations about our ancestors. Now the conversation goes beyond me saying “it starts and ends with me being Romanian.” I have family all over Romania, Moldova and now my sisters have moved to Ireland and have started the Irish trend! If I understood correctly my mother and her siblings were raised in the northern part of Romania, not too far from the Ukrainian border. It explains her beautiful green eyes.

My Canadian family has been the only ancestry history I have ever known. With the inspiration of the Beanland side looking into their history it began my quest to find my own answers. On my mom, Pat’s side her father is Irish and her mother is Scottish. Her mother’s maiden name is McNichols and her father’s side is McLaughlin. On my father, Bruce’s side both of his parents are English. His mother’s maiden name is Nicholson and his father’s name is Beanland. On both sides of my family my great grandparents came over to canada and then my Grandparents were born. My mother was born in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada and my father was born in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. My parents met in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and moved to Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada where my older sister was born and we were both raised.

Most recently, on my dad’s side of the family, we found out that my great aunt Helen’s parents were born in Romania, and only a couple hours from where my biological mother and her family came from.

I find ancestry to be such a fascinating topic. To learn where everyone originated and how they got to where they are today. If you have not had this experience I highly recommend learning about where you came from. I promise it is an interesting journey.

We all originated in one part of the world. Now, we are so diverse that we all forget we were once the same. Everyone is bias when it comes to their own culture when reality is we all come from the same place. If only everyone understood this like I do. We wouldn’t have such a fight to fend for ourselves.

We should be more open with sharing our histories and how we got to where we are today. I myself originated in Romania but I am now Canadian. I have brought my family’s history to Canada to start this new link. My Romanian family is now expanding outside of Romania and I look forward to seeing where we go from here.

I highly recommend to all of you to find out where you came from. It gives you a bit more appreciation for life and how you got to where you are.

Leave a Reply

