First Leg of the Race!

Today begins my journey to Ireland. I woke up at approximately 4:00AM local Toronto, ON, Canada time. We left the hotel for the airport at 4:45AM and arrived at 5:00AM. Minutes later I was hugging my mother Pat, goodbye for now. It was an emotional farewell because I am not sure when I will be back in Canada. If all goes well I would like to stay in Europe and tour around for at least a year. This would be made possible if I were to receive my Romanian Citizenship. It would allow me to find work all over the continent, within the European Union. Lucky enough, Romania joined the EU in 2007!

There are all sorts of emotions as my flight takes off from Toronto, ON, Canada at 7:20AM local time. I miss my family and friends in Saskatchewan enormously. I am so happy that my mother surprised me by coming down before I left on my incredible journey! I said goodbye to my sister, brother in law, niece and nephew in Saskatchewan over Apple Face-Time, last night. I thought I was going to get very emotional, especially when my 2.5 year old nephew told me to have a good trip and he loves me, in his tiny voice. It kills being so far away from those adorable little munchkins. My niece will be one years old on my birthday, November 16. She is growing like a weed so the distance is a tough one. I am so excited to build the same loving relationship with my other 5 nephews and 3 nieces!

I was able to talk to my father Bruce, in SK as well which was an emotional farewell. My father is the one who made the journey to Romania around this time, 24 years ago. Then we arrived in Canada on November 10 1990. He is my hero and I am so happy that I get to share this journey with him. I know he is very proud of me and very excited for me.

I will also miss my amazing new and old friends in Ontario and I wish them luck in their future endeavors. Max and Angie you guys’ better “take ‘er for a rip” one last time in my honour! Also Max I will see you in Bruges someday soon! Angie you have been a solid rock for me during these past 5 months. You helped me get through a lot of emotional things, and have allowed me to make this journey with confidence. You picked me up numerous times when I felt like I was losing hope. You dragged my butt out of bed when I felt like giving up. You are an amazing person, and I want to make it publically known that this chick is one talented writer, actress and film producer. I cannot wait for your future publications. I love you so much girl and I thank you for being such a strong influence in my life. Things are only going to go up from here, and I will see you on a boat in Cannes, France! You have come a long way my dear and I will always believe in you even when you lose touch. I know that the feelings are mutual. It was great to have a fellow SK girl to spend the days with, taking ‘er for a rip! I will always be the “Are yah bud” to your “Taking ‘er for a rip”. (I’m getting a little teary eyed and it’s all your fault!)

On another note, I cannot thank my cousin Helen and her family enough for letting me stay with them for five whole months. They took very good care of me, and gave me the opportunity to start fresh in the big city of Toronto, ON, Canada. For this I am so grateful, and I hope someday I can return the favour. Or as my cousin Helen requests – Pay it forward! I love you so much Helen, Doug, Dequan, Liam, Kyle and Hannah, and I thank you. Helen, you have always been an amazing and strong role model in my life, and I call you sister. I am so lucky to be related to you, along with all of my other cousins’ from SK/AB & ON. I love you cousins’ Megan, Nick, Helen, Anthony, April, Billy, and Jen, along with your growing families! I will be sure to continue to make you all proud!

I also have to give a special shout out to my cousin Jen in Edmonton, AB, Canada. Forgive me other cousins, I love you all just as much but I have to mention my cousin Jen in a separate portion. My cousin Jen has been the biggest role model in my life. Since I was a baby Jen and I have always had a super close bond. She is a sister and best friend to me rather than a cousin. We spent countless hours together growing up. Despite the 8 year difference, we always had the best of times together. She taught me so much in life. How to be a respectful and loving human being; She showed me really good work ethics from the time she worked at the Conexus Arts Centre to working for FCC to currently working for Canada Post. I am so proud of how hard you have worked to get to where you are today. In grade 12 we had to write about our Canadian role model and I chose to write about her. I am who I am today because of her and her mother, Aunt Lynn. Jen is a wonderful wife and aunt today. She continues to pass along her great qualities to her niece Sydney and I see a great resemblance between Sydney and I because of Jen’s great influences as a genuine person. I love my cousin Jen so much and I am so happy I get to share this journey with her, despite the distance across the world. Thank you Jen for instilling your great qualities in me and making me the person I am today. You are your mother’s daughter, because she too is an amazing woman.

I will be sure to share the stories and photos as soon as things start happening! So far I sit in St. Johns, New Foundland, Canada from 11:45AM to 11:15PM local time.

Bye for now!

Popo & I in Torontopopochichio and I are ready for the trip!

Toronto Pearson Leaving Toronto Lake Ontario & NiagaraNew Foundland1 New Foundland2 New Foundland3 New Foundland4 New Foundland5

Leave a Reply

