First Taste of Romanian Culture!

Despite the pouring rain, last evening I attended an event with my three sisters’ and their families’. It was located at the Green Isles Conference Leisure & Spa Hotel in Dublin, Ireland. It featured musicians from the Moldovan area and one gentleman from Arad where my mother lives. It was so exciting to see the different traditional outfits.

Banat Outfit

Arad Region Traditional Gown (Missing the golden thread vale).

We all laughed, drank, danced and enjoyed the traditional Romanian music. I felt so happy the entire time because this was the firs time I have been submerged into my own culture. I must say our country makes the most beautiful women, but poor selection in men! Haha, No offence Men of Romania! You are all my brothers.

We were very fortunate to of heard a man from Arad, Romania sing. His name is Calin Crisan and his grandmother is from the same village as my mother in Hunedoara-Timisana, Romania. My sister Miha and her husband know him, and he is the reason why we attended the event. Before Calin’s performance there was a very beautiful female singer and a gentleman who could play the hell out of a violin! His show was spectacular! He was doing all sorts of tricks with his violin such as playing behind his back, holding the bow with his feet, and getting bystanders to hold the bow as he played. It was quite the show! I find it interesting as I look back in my life and I understand where I get my flavor of music from. I love the violin and played since the age of 13. I also went through a period of my life where I only listened to Arabic music. There are strong similarities in Arabic and Romanian music. Lots of violin and vocal trills! Funny how things comes together.

I feel I fit right in with the Romanian people. The dancing is so free and fun! Some people were trying to speak to me in Romanian, but I quickly explained that I am Romanian but I only speak English, which still through them for a loop. I cannot wait until I come back from Romania and I will be close to fluent in the language. It is developing daily but I have a long way to go!

Today I am heading over to my oldest sister Miha’s house for my favourite food, cabbage rolls, and to celebrate her oldest son’s 10th Birthday. My nephew Paul’s Birthday was yesterday.

I think cabbage rolls will make all of our tummies feel better after last night!

IMG_0969

IMG_0887 IMG_0890 IMG_0892

IMG_0918IMG_0916IMG_0906IMG_0939 IMG_0941 IMG_0948 IMG_0950 IMG_0953 IMG_0957 IMG_0961 IMG_0963 IMG_0967

Leave a Reply

