Momma I’m Comin’ Home!

My journey home to mom began on November 11 2014. I left Dublin Airport and flew to Budapest, Hungary where I was met by a driver from Romania. Along with three other Romanians we piled into an average sized BMW and headed off to Arad Romania. We were stopped at the Romanian border for about 15minutes because of my Canadian Passport. Luckily, with no issues they stamped my passport and we went on our merry way!

I arrived in Arad, Romania around 4:45am local time, where I was met by my younger brother Florin. I was greeted with a giant hug that took me off my feet! After our warm embrace I piled in his friend’s BMW and drove 15minutes to my mom’s small village.

It was about 5:00am when I walked through the doors of my momma’s house. Petronela asleep in the corner and my mom asleep on the couch. I woke her to say hello, and she said she felt like she was dreaming! We were both quite tired, so i ate some cabbage rolls and we went to sleep.

When I woke in the morning, my mom had gone out to get food for the pigs and water for the household. Petronela was awake so we got to finally hug! It was so nice to see her. She was never around when I skyped mom. She is so happy to have her baby sister, and continues to tell me in her soft spoken voice that she loves me, followed by a 30second hug!

I have been warmly accepted here in Romania. Today I met my mom’s neighbour and friend. He cried and wished me good luck, and good health (naroc and sinatatae). My mom and I finally got to shed some tears after a bit of rest. She is so happy that her baby has come home to her.

After we fed the pigs, and walked the goats we got on with our day by Skyping with my sister Nikole, and spoke to my sister Miha on facebook. Unfortunately due to the excitement I have come down with a touch of the flu. Not to worry I am in good hands! My mom gave me some plum brandy, some lemon and cabbage rolls to nurse me back to health!

Tomorrow I hope to go into Arad and get a phone card from Orange Company and tour the city.

Ciao!

Cabbage rolls and plum brandy!

IMG_2074.JPG

IMG_2079.JPG

2 thoughts on “Momma I’m Comin’ Home!”

Leave a Reply

