Unforeseen Circumstances Have Ended My Trip

Due to unforeseen circumstances I have had to cut my adventure short here in Romania. On December 3 2014 my brother and I were in a very bad accident. We were building the fire to heat my sister’s house where I was staying alone, when the diesel he was using exploded, hurting us both. My brother is very badly injured, but he is still alive and will be ok with time. Out of respect for him I do not wish to share more. I have been left with 2nd degree burns around the calf of my leg, and minor burns on my other leg, and my hands. My hair had been singed, and my eyebrows and eyelashes on one eye were burnt almost off. The burn near my eye healed within a day so I am very lucky.

I leave for Dublin, this Sunday, December 7, 2014 and leave for Canada on Monday, December 8, 2014, where I am hoping to receive more medical attention. It has not been easy for me because I do not speak Romanian and I do not agree with the game of paying doctors under the table to receive better medical treatment. I have travel health insurance but it does not cover paying doctors to show empathy. It is a very different mentality and with the support of my family from Romania and Canada and a few close friends in Romania and Canada I have been able to remain strong. I would also rather not risk getting an infection because it is a very large wound. My mother has been giving me excellent care at home despite the excruciating pain. We are both very sad that this is sending me back to Canada.

I apologize for the alarming news. It is upsetting.

Thank you for your continuous support. I ask for those religious or spiritual folks out there, please pray for my brother’s speedy recovery. We are very lucky to be alive.

IMG_2516

2nd degree burns on my one leg.

One thought on “Unforeseen Circumstances Have Ended My Trip”

Leave a Reply

